If you have not used the privacy feature released by Facebook last year, now is the time to start. It's called Off-Facebook Activity and lets you view and control the data shared by apps and websites on the platform and constantly monitor the kind of information that third-party apps can access.
With the privacy feature, you can delete the history of applications and websites that have shared your data. You can also turn off future activity outside of Facebook, which tells Facebook to "disconnect" any information the company has shared from your account. Alternatively, you can selectively choose with which companies you want to stop sharing your business and it will stop showing you these targeted ads.
See how you can better understand the privacy of your Facebook account.
How to manage the information that sites share on Facebook using the Off-Facebook Activity tool
Using Facebook Business Tools, you can see what information has been shared by applications and Facebook sites. From there, you can delete the information from your account and turn off future off-Facebook activity from your account. You will be able to check it for all applications and websites so that they can no longer share your search activity with Facebook.
To get started, go to Settings & Privacy> Settings> Your Facebook Information> Off-Facebook Activity. From there, you can manage Off-Facebook Activity, delete all history, and disable any future activity in your account.
What happens when you turn off the activity managed by Off-Facebook
Once you delete the activity that the tool manages, Facebook will remove the identifying information shared by apps and websites. This means that Facebook will not know which sites you visited or what you looked for, so you will not see targeted ads from those sites.
What else can you do to improve your Facebook privacy?
If you want to control which ads you see (or not) on Facebook, go to Settings on your phone or desktop and select Ad Preferences.
In the Advertisers and Businesses section, you can see which advertisers have placed ads using a list that has been uploaded to Facebook and contains your information. Selecting a company and then Don't Allow, you will not see ads from advertisers when using a list from that company.
You can also go to Ad Settings and turn off affiliate-based ads, ads based on your Facebook Company Products activity that you see elsewhere, and ads that include your social activities. However, this will not delete data and you will still see the same number of ads as before. The "off-Facebook activity" feature is the best way to remove your data.
Source of information: cnet.com