Instagram is one of the most popular social media, which we use on a daily basis, either to upload a post or to see what our friends post. However, there comes a time when we may get tired of wanting to delete it account us.
Below is how you can turn off your account for a while, or delete it completely if you no longer need it. Note, however, that you can only do so through the Instagram website and not through the app. Before deleting your account, you'll also need to save all the data you've uploaded to platform, if you need them later.
How do you download your data from Instagram?
Before deactivating your account, either temporarily or permanently, it is a good idea to download photos and videos you've posted. To do this, go to this link, add your password and select the appropriate option. You will then receive an email with a link, within 48 hours, from which you will be able to download your data.
How do you turn off your Instagram account?
- Go to Instagram.com and sign in to your account by entering your username and password.
- Go to your profile and select the option Επεξεργασία προφίλ.
- Scroll down to find the option Temporarily disable my account.
- After that, you need to give Instagram why you want to deactivate your account. To do this, click on the drop-down menu and answer the question "Why do you deactivate your account?»
- Once you've selected the most relevant answer, you just need to re-enter your access information and you're ready. Your account is temporarily disabled.
How do you permanently delete your Instagram account?
To permanently delete your account, follow these simple steps:
- You first need to visit the Instagram site and sign in. Click on this link, to go to the selection Deletion.
- Again, you'll need to explain why you want to delete your account by tapping the drop-down menu and selecting the appropriate reason.
- When you're done, sign in again and choose to permanently delete your account.
How will you reactivate your Instagram account?
Once you decide that you no longer want to stay out of Instagram and wish to return to it after it has been disabled, you will simply need to sign in again and your account will be reactivated.
Unfortunately, the same option is not available when you deleted your account permanently. Keep in mind that you will lose all the photos, videos, and stories you previously uploaded once your account is permanently deleted and you will need to start over to create your Instagram profile.
In addition to the obvious steps you need to take to delete / deactivate Instagram, here are some common questions you might be interested in:
- How to delete your Instagram account in the iPhone app?
Because you can't use the Instagram app to delete or deactivate your account, you can access its web version via a iPhone.
- How to delete your Instagram account in the Android app?
As mentioned above, you cannot delete your account from the application. However, you can access Instagram.com from Android your phone to follow the procedure above.