Homehow ToHow to move Dropbox to another location on Mac

How to move Dropbox to another location on Mac

position

Holders of one Mac, who happen to use the application dropbox, know that this app is stored by default in the folder named Home. Typically, there is also an application shortcut on the sidebar of Finder. Of course, you can always visit the Dropbox simply by tapping the program icon in the menu bar at the top of the screen and clicking on the folder icon.

However, if you want to change the Dropbox position on your computer, you can follow the steps below.

step 1ο: Click the Dropbox icon in the menu, then select the sprocket. From the new menu that appears, select it Preferences.

step 2ο: After opening his tab Preferences, select it Sync.

step 3ο: Click on Dropbox folder location, at the bottom of the tab and select it Other.

step 4ο: The file selection box will then appear, from which you can select where you want to move the application. Click on Select to the desired location, and then click Move.

It should be noted, however, that the above action moves the app itself rather than a copy of it. The Dropbox folder will be removed from its original location and moved to the new one, and all original sharing settings will remain intact.

Moving Dropbox, you could save space by saving your files to an external drive. However, you can use specific types of media and if a connected device is not suitable for this, the application will let you know that it can not move your folder.

However, this requires that the drive must always be plugged into your computer while the application is running. If you remove the drive, Dropbox will display the following warning when you try to access the folder:

If this happens, select “Quit", Connect the drive that contains the Dropbox data, and then restart the Mac or restart the program from the folder Applications.

Dropbox does not generally recommend this practice and presents yet another problem that may arise in support pages of:

"If the external drive is disconnected from the computer while the Dropbox is running, there is a small but real chance that the application starts deleting files before it detects that the entire drive has been removed."

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Absent Mia
Absent Miahttps://www.secnews.gr
Being your self, in a world that constantly tries to change you, is your greatest achievement
spot_img

LIVE NEWS